vision

artwork by carolina sartor

vision

more and more often
as the years stumble past
I catch a glimpse
of a flicker
of a shadow
just outwith the range
of my vision

is it a memory
made real
of someone long gone
whom once I loved
and still do
telling me
that I too
am not forgotten

or is it merely
further evidence
of a decaying body
and fading eyes
that means the world
becomes day by day
more hazy

my belief is as always
stronger on the side of magic and mystery
and less inclined to the dull but reasonable explanation
and as a Scot
whose culture and history and literature
are steeped in restless ghosts
and some say mythical monsters
I prefer to embrace my otherworldly visitors
to thank them for their time
and to look forward to
our next meeting
wherever it takes place



Click here to hear the poet read his words:
https://ceayr.com/2022/09/11/vision/

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Go on, say something, even if it's rude!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.