dream of life

you’re still there by phil burns

Click here to hear the poet read his words:

dream of life

is this my life a dream so sweet
or is it real and then
when I awaken from my dream
does my life come to an end

I don’t know if these words make sense
I don’t think I really care
I do know that I’ll be content
to know that you’re still there

for I don’t want to live a life
where the pain is so extreme
in any world where you are not
either real or in a dream

for one truth I must tell you
if you have not already guessed
of all the things that ever happened
you are easily the best

you are perhaps life’s greatest pleasure
seeing you smile each time you give
whether you are real or in a dream
I love just watching you live

and now so many years have passed
since I saw your face again
so I’ll awaken from my life
let my dream come to an end

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to dream of life

  1. My favorite:
    for I don’t want to live a life
    where the pain is so extreme
    in any world where you are not
    either real or in a dream

    Like

Go on, say something, even if it's rude!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.