The Climb – Alastair’s Photo Fiction

AnElephantCant help thinking
His friend Alastair is a master of photography
Sadly this wee story
Will not cover him in glory
He admits it’s not an autobiography

 This is a weekly invitation to write a short piece of fiction (c. 150 words) based on a photo prompt (below) provided by Alastair.
Follow the link to see some great stories by some great writers.
But please read AnElephant’s little offering first.

Copyright Alastair Forbes

Copyright Alastair Forbes

The Climb

Jings, this is hard going.
Steep and rough, and all these harsh jaggy things.
And no guarantee that there is anything worthwhile at the top.
Could be a predator lying in wait up there.
Or some giant vicious bird waiting to swoop down and destroy me.
Or a pterodactyl!
Do you still get pterodactyls, I wonder, or are they all extinct now?
Gosh, I hope so, they looked really fierce in that book I saw one time.

I do hope there is a view.
That is all I want, really, just to look out and dream.
Dreams are all I have left.

In my next life I want to be a butterfly.
They enjoy themselves, flitting about from flower to flower.
They can see the whole world if they want to.

It is just no fun being a snail.

This entry was posted in Other Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Climb – Alastair’s Photo Fiction

  1. RoSy says:

    Poor lil snail. He needs to know that some of us think he’s a cute lil one. But – I can see wanting to be a butterfly in his next life. I wouldn’t mind being a butterfly either 🙂

    Like

  2. nightlake says:

    poor poor snail. butterfly or any other bird

    Like

  3. Penny L Howe says:

    Very nice. A clever take on nature and Alastair’s photograph. 🙂

    Like

  4. EagleAye says:

    It’s pretty slow going for a snail too. You had me wondering who the protagonist was until the very end. Like a literary riddle. This was a very fun read.

    Like

  5. yarnspinnerr says:

    An ecologically sound post. 😉

    Like

  6. misskzebra says:

    I’m afraid I have no sympathy for snails, those little sunflower murderers.

    Like

  7. Lyn says:

    Well done dear Anele. There are so many different takes on the photo. Poor little snail. He’ll be safe if he stays away from my lettuce.

    Like

  8. neenslewy says:

    I think snails may live longer as long as they avoid getting caught in gardens and allotments… or France, oppps 😉

    Like

  9. Alastair says:

    Butterflies would be good. Although being the caterpillar first – not so much 😉

    Like

Go on, say something, even if it's rude!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.